Go to navigation Go to content
Phone: 703-260-6070
The Rohrstaff Law Firm

The Rohrstaff Law Firm

Call 703-260-6070
Fax 703-260-6305

Q
When must a child's case be filed?

A
There is a "statute of limitations" for every case. That is, the law requires that a case be brought (or settled) within a certain amount of time. In Virginia, the statute of limitations for personal injury cases is generally two years from the time of the injury. However, in child injury cases, the statute of limitations is two years from the time the child reaches adulthood. In Virginia, a child is legally an adult at age 18 years, so the statute of limitations is when the child reaches 20 years of age.

There are very important exceptions to the rule about when a child's statute of limitations expires. Contact an injury lawyer firm such as the Rohrstaff Law Firm, 703-260-6070, or through the contact form on this website, or by email to [email protected] to determine the correct statute of limitations. If the period in which a claim can be brought runs out, the child is barred forever from bringing a claim.